Menu Bottom

November 20, 2014 - "The Art Forger" by Barbara Shapiro
Third Thursday Book Group -1pm

Almost twenty-five years after the infamous art heist at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum - still the largest unsolved art theft in history - one of the stolen Degas paintings is delivered to the Boston studio of a young artist.

Claire Roth has entered into a Faustian bargain with a powerful gallery owner by agreeing to forget the Degas in exchange for a one-woman show in his renowned gallery.  But as she begins her work, she starts to suspect that this long-missing masterpiece - the very one that had been hanging at the Gardner for one hundred years - may itself be a forgery.  The Art Forger is a thrilling novel about seeing-and not seeing-the secrets that lie beneath the canvas.





December 3 or December 11, 2014 - "A Primate's Memoir" by Robert Sapolsky
Non-Fiction Book Group: 1st Wed. at 1pm or 2nd Thurs at 6:30pm


We pleased to announce the formation of a new book group for readers of non-fiction. You’ll have two choices of meeting times: the first Wednesday afternoon of the month at 1pm or the second Thursday evening at 6:30pm

December book title to be discussed is 'A Primate's Memoir' by Robert M. Sapolsky.  In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey,  Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

"I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti—for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects—unique and compelling characters in their own right—and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.
For more information, email dhiett@hampsteadlibrary.orgor call 603/329-6411.


December 18, 2014 - "The Light Between Oceans" by M.L. Stedman
Third Thursday Book Group - 1pm


After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season and shore leaves are granted every other year at best, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

Against Tom’s judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. When she is two, Tom and Isabel return to the mainland and are reminded that there are other people in the world. 


M. L. Stedman’s mesmerizing, beautifully written novel seduces us into accommodating Isabel’s decision to keep this "gift from God.” And we are swept into a story about extraordinarily compelling characters seeking to find their North Star in a world where there is no right answer, where justice for one person is another’s tragic loss.