Menu Bottom

December 18, 2014 - "The Light Between Oceans" by M.L. Stedman
Third Thursday Book Group - 1pm


After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day’s journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season and shore leaves are granted every other year at best, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby’s cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

Against Tom’s judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. When she is two, Tom and Isabel return to the mainland and are reminded that there are other people in the world. 


M. L. Stedman’s mesmerizing, beautifully written novel seduces us into accommodating Isabel’s decision to keep this "gift from God.” And we are swept into a story about extraordinarily compelling characters seeking to find their North Star in a world where there is no right answer, where justice for one person is another’s tragic loss.





January 7 at 1PM or January 8 at 6:30pm - "A Primate's Memoir" by Robert Sapolsky
NON-FICTION Book Group: 1st Wed. at 1pm or 2nd Thurs at 6:30pm


We pleased to announce the formation of a new book group for readers of non-fiction. You’ll have two choices of meeting times: the first Wednesday afternoon of the month at 1pm or the second Thursday evening at 6:30pm.

In January, we will continue to discuss  'A Primate's Memoir' by Robert M. Sapolsky.  In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey,  Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

"I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti—for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects—unique and compelling characters in their own right—and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.
For more information, email dhiett@hampsteadlibrary.orgor call 603/329-6411.


January 15, 2015 - "Breakfast with Buddha" by Roland Merullo
Third Thursday Book Group - 1pm


When his sister tricks him into taking her guru on a trip to their childhood home, Otto Ringling, a confirmed skeptic, is not amused. Six days on the road with an enigmatic holy man who answers every question with a riddle is not what he'd planned.

But in an effort to westernize his passenger--and amuse himself--he decides to show the monk some "American fun" along the way. From a chocolate factory in Hershey to a bowling alley in South Bend, from a Cubs game at Wrigley field to his family farm near Bismarck, Otto is given the remarkable opportunity to see his world--and more important, his life--through someone else's eyes. Gradually, skepticism yields to amazement as he realizes that his companion might just be the real thing.

Newcomers are always welcome, and you can pick up a copy of the book at the main desk.





Upcoming Book group selections

Here's the list of the upcoming titles for our Third Thursday Book Group:

February - Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmole

March - Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

April - Spring Read Month-Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

May – The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty

June – The Distant Hours by Kate Morton


The Non-Fiction Book Group's future titles:

March - Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown

April -  Frozen in Time by Mitchell Zuckoff